Sick Days

I’ve been battling a cold for a few days now.  It started, as always is the case, with a scratchy throat, and has now progressed to a general sneezy, runny-nose, sinus-y mess.  I avoid cold meds unless I simply can’t function without them, so I’ve been running through my battery of frugal immune boosters.  I drank some Emergen-C, I’ve been trying to get plenty of sleep and drink lots of water, and I’ve been taking a dropper-full of Umcka every few hours (I swear this stuff works miracles).  I even busted out my neti pot.

I’m not sure what’s wrong with my sinuses, but I have problems with the neti pot.  Every time I use it I can tell that it makes a difference, but it seems like quite a bit of the saline solution gets trapped in my sinus cavity because my nose dribbles salt water at ill-timed moments for a few hours afterward.  Anyone have any other suggestions for fighting off a sinus infection?  I have a sordid history with these things, and I really don’t want to repeat the past!

Hopefully I will have more energy tomorrow.  Right now I just want to curl up in bed with my Kindle and read until I fall asleep.  There are still papers to grade, though… sigh.  They can wait, at least until morning.

Leave a Reply

