The Wind

This is just a quick post.  I’m sitting here grading papers, but feeling rather grateful.  I finally told my coworkers and administration that I’m moving home (back to Austin) next year, and everyone was supportive, professional, and clean.  I couldn’t have asked for more.  Plus, I was evaluated to day and it was actually a very positive experience.

So anyway, I’m sitting here grading papers, and I decided to flip over to last.fm.  The first song that came on was Cat Stevens’ “The Wind,” which couldn’t have been more perfect.  Now it’s switched to Blind Pilot’s “I Buried A Bone,” which is also fitting because they have sort of been the music of my personal revolution for the past year.

So I leave you tonight with contentment.  I am sailing forward on my path and, even though I don’t know where the wind will carry me exactly, I am perfectly happy with that.

 

The Wind

by Cat Stevens

I listen to the wind
To the wind of my soul
Where I’ll end up well I think,
Only God really knows
I’ve sat upon the setting sun
But never, never never never
I never wanted water once
No, never, never, never

I listen to my words but
They fall far below
I let my music take me where
My heart wants to go
I swam upon the devil’s lake
But never, never never never
I’ll never make the same mistake
No, never, never, never

Leave a Reply

