Cats and Computers

I’ve been working for several years now to change the way I move through this world.  I have a mental list of next steps constantly in the back of my mind which includes projects of all sizes.  I tend to put off the big projects, though, for various reasons, but mostly because I feel like I’m too busy to deal with them.  I want to do things like go paperless, but the task of digitization is so daunting.  I hate to admit it, but sometimes it takes a little bit of an external push to get me going.  I was pushed to move out of my apartment earlier than I’d planned, and this morning I received a little push to transition to the cloud.   Funny story.

 

The Push

I was muddling through my email this morning at about 7:30 when I looked up and saw my roommate’s cat sitting on the back of the sofa, right next to the big basket of electronic gear I had just brought over from my old place.  He had just scarfed down a half a can of catfood, and as I glanced at him he started heaving.  I tried to push him onto the floor before anything could happen, but he projectile vomited directly into my electronics basket, specifically targeting my external hard drive.  Yuck.

Since this morning, I have moved on to an electronics grocery bag and decided that it’s finally time for me to move into the cloud.  I’ve been planning to switch over to SugarSync for several months now, but have put it off because I don’t have that much free storage space and I am reluctant to pay a monthly fee.  The cool thing, though, is that SugarSync has a referral system.  You can actually earn extra storage by getting other people to use SugarSync.

 

What is SugarSync?

SugarSync is a web-based backup service.  It allows you to store your files online and access them from any computer you happen to use.  You can set it to automatically sync specific files on your computer to the web, and you can add multiple computers to your account.  I have SugarSync installed on both my home and work computers, which means I no longer have to worry about saving files to a flash drive or emailing them to myself.  SugarSync does it all for me. If I start a document at work and want to continue developing it at home, I just save it to the Magic Briefcase file and any changes I make on either computer will be applied to the document without having to download and store multiple versions.  You can save documents to your magic briefcase from computers that are not linked to your account, and I think you can also use WebSync to save documents to your account from foreign computers without having to save anything on the computer itself.  I haven’t tried that feature yet.

I love love love SugarSync, and it’s made my life so much easier.  I haven’t even begun to toy with the photo or music applications of this program, but I’m excited to move in that direction once I have a little bit more storage space.  Apparently, if you upload your music, you can stream from any computer or internet enabled device, which would be amazing.

If you’ve been looking for a good way to back up your hard drive, or if SugarSync just sounds cool to you, please check it out.  You can open an account for free and there is no obligation to establish a paid account.  And if you use my link to do it, you’ll be helping me earn some more storage space and I would obviously love you forever.

Leave a Reply

