Creating an Energy Loop

I’ve been putting a lot of time and energy into launching myself as a yoga teacher lately.  I feel like I’m finally starting to pull ahead, but it’s definitely been a ride with a lot of ups and downs.   About a week ago I was getting pretty frustrated.  I felt like I had been putting all of this energy into this work and getting nothing back in return.  Then it dawned on me.  I was putting a lot of myself and my energy out there, yes, but the only energy I was absorbing was energy that my friends and my work were giving me.  That kind of energy can be really revitalizing, but it’s all external, which means that it is unpredictable.  I was at a point where I was relying on this type of energy.  I would look forward to receiving all of this love and support, and if it didn’t come I’d get frustrated, maybe even a little bit depressed.  I decided that this was not a sustainable pattern, and, even though I was following my heart, this was not how I wanted to live.

The question is, what do you do instead?

I decided I needed to start to creating a sustainable energetic loop for myself.  I’m trying to identify things that lift my mood and make me feel good about my place in the world and what I’m doing with my life that do not rely on any sort of input or feedback from other people.  There are ways that I can keep myself going and feel happy and fulfilled without having to wait on other people.

I’ve started to develop a morning routine to help me with this.  There are a lot of steps to it, and I haven’t really implemented it successfully yet, but just making it through part of the routine helps me feel like I’ve gotten a good start to my day.

I think the most essential element of this routine, for me, is to cut out internet and phone time until after I’ve finished everything I need to do for myself.  The routine itself involves going for a walk with no destination, coming home and doing yoga, meditating for ten minutes, eating a mindful breakfast, taking thirty minutes to work on personal writing, then putting thirty minutes or so of into my business.  I should probably work in playing the piano, too, but I haven’t really figured out where to fit that in yet.  Some days are too busy for any of this, but just setting the intention of prioritizing myself helps me feel better about where I am in my life and where I’m going.

Do you have any routines or practices that feed you energetically and keep you motivated to do the work you know you need to be doing?

Leave a Reply

