Sympathetic Words

I’ve been thinking a lot about words lately.  The way we use them.  The way they affect us and those around us.  We let so many things go unspoken because we know that they are understood, but I have had the privilege recently to have some of these things spelled out for me, and it has reminded me just how powerful words can be.  If you are like me and you tend to let things go unspoken, step out of yourself for the next week or so and put those things into words.  Now, I’m not encouraging awkward declarations of love or anything that might make someone else uncomfortable, but if there’s something you think a friend might benefit from hearing spoken aloud, say it.

For example, one of my friends is staring down some particularly frightening health and life circumstances.  Normally I would tell her I was there for her, and I would make an extra effort to call and be there for her if she needed me.  This time, though, I’m going to step outside of myself and spend some time this afternoon composing an email that focuses on the strengths I’ve seen her develop over the years.  I’m going to try to give her something more positive and concrete to hold on to because I know that our thoughts and emotions shape the way we see ourselves fitting into the world, and strong supportive words from others can definitely help us punch through negative thought patterns.

Leave a Reply

