The Power of Creation

That title almost makes this sound like a religious post, doesn’t it?

I’ve noticed a correlation lately that I thought I’d share with you.  At this stage in my life, I’m not making a whole lot of money, and I tend to get sucked into worrying about how I’m doing financially.  I’m sure this isn’t helped by my fascination with personal finance and budgeting, but those things are important to me and I don’t think it’s wise to abandon them just so I can feel better about my own situation.  That actually sounds kind of risky.

I have noticed, though, that when I’m starting a new project and am heavily involved in the creation process, I tend to think about and rationalize my own finances far less.  I get so wrapped up in ironing out the details of my project that there’s no space for me to worry about money.  I’m starting to think of it as the power of creation.  Creating things of value helps me focus on bringing value to the world rather than increasing my net worth, and that really is the direction I want my energy moving.  I’m getting really excited about the project I’m developing right now.  I’ve only been working on it for a couple of days, so it’s in the very early stages of development, but involves yoga.  I’ll share more in a future post!

Leave a Reply

