Next Project: Yoga Coaching!

As I mentioned in my last post, I had an idea recently. I’ve been mulling it over, and I decided it’s time I throw it out to the massive internet and see what you folks think. If you’ve visited me here before, you probably know I’m a yoga teacher. I really enjoy working closely with people. I tend to have a handful of students at any given time, and my goal, ultimately, is to support them as they develop and grow in their practice of yoga. It is exciting to me to think about helping people develop their own personal practice, especially because I know firsthand how difficult it can be to make the leap from practicing yoga in a class environment and practicing yoga in your own home.

I got drawn to yoga through books. It was exactly what I needed in college because I was super busy, but when I went to my first class after I graduated, I realized that books might not be enough. The world of yoga is so expansive, and what I had found on my own, although enjoyable, was quite limited. So, I started going to classes, with the thought bouncing around in the back of my head that someday I would be able to translate what I’d learned in class into a less routine, more personalized home practice. I soon realized that this was easier said than done.

It really wasn’t until I did my teacher training in 2011 that I was able to practice by myself in my own home and feel good about it. When you go to a yoga class, you get to know your body a little bit better than you do practicing at home with a book or a DVD because you have someone there who is actually looking at you, supporting you, and helping you figure out what your body needs, but it takes a lot of group practice to be able to translate what you are learning into a home practice.

There are a few solutions to this problem, aside from patiently attending class after class and waiting for it all to gel. You can hire a private teacher to help you find your own practice, or, if you’re motivated to do so, you can do a teacher training. If anything will help you find yourself through yoga, teacher training will! Those are kind of pricey options, though, and I’m all about making yoga more accessible to a broader range of people.

I want to create an alternative. I want to offer web-based yoga coaching to people who are seeking to deepen their own practice of yoga by developing an adaptable home practice. My initial offering is a basic coaching package that will go beyond yoga DVDs. It will be a two month program that includes print materials, an ebook, a set of videos that follow a basic structural framework outlined in the ebook, weekly google+ hangout classes, and weekly 15-minute support calls. The calls can be used to address any questions or concerns, provide alignment assistance via video chat, or brainstorm new ways to adjust the practice to match your mood or the feedback that your body is giving you. These support calls will be what makes this package unique because they will provide many of the advantages of having a private yoga instructor at a fraction of the cost.

My intention as a yoga coach is to listen and respond to each person that I work with, helping them discover where they are meeting with resistance on their quest to develop a personal practice, and help them establish a flexible practice that they can carry with them for the rest of their lives. I see myself as a guide more than an instructor, and I want to make my services available to anyone who has an internet connection.

I plan to launch a kickstarter campaign in July to help raise the money that I will need to develop a quality product (cameras, specifically), and, after that, I will get to work on production. I’d appreciate any input or suggestions you may have, and I’d love it if you shared a link to this post and helped get the word out. Also, if this is something you’re interested in, please let me know! I will be offering the whole package at half price as one of the rewards in my kickstarter campaign.

One thought on “Next Project: Yoga Coaching!

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on Working from Anywhere as a Yoga Teacher | Simplicity in Stages

Leave a Reply

